hello, my name is Wayne…

It’s been so long since I posted that I figured I should re-introduce myself.

Last year really kicked me, between work, umami, studio work and teaching. I’m not teaching this semester and it feels like vacation every day. Not that I didn’t like it. I really did. It was the most challenging and best thing I think I’ve done in a while. If I get to, I’ll teach Design and Social Responsibility again this fall, but it would be nice to focus on something I feel more confident in.

brief update:

With all my (still very very little) free time, I’ve stepped up my studio practice, turned a new corner and am ramping it all up, including seeing and studying more of what’s going on.

I’m also studying color theory again and set aside the photograph as source [uh huh].

My friend James Romaine stopped by my studio and holy cow is he a good person to have over to look at your work and then go to MOMA with to see what other artists are doing. When it comes to contemporary art, he knows his poo.

Beth is still awesome, in case you were wondering (she’s pretty consistent).

OK, here’s why I started posting again…

Today at lunch I saw this show at Team Gallery.

1

I thought it was dope.

Mainly, I was looking around to see what was up in the neighborhood (relatively, it takes too long to get to Chelsea during lunch) and noticed it on ArtCal.com. Team has always been solid and since I hadn’t seen their space since they left Chelsea, I thought I’d take a look.

I’m not going to give you a full review, but I was particularly interested in Stanley Whitney’s pieces. He’s the senior member of the show and it’s evident that he’s been studying color and paint relationships for a long time. The paintings have a strong presence and resonate in interesting ways.

That’s all I have for today.

slow start, but it’s a start.

word.

3 Comments

Filed under Art

3 responses to “hello, my name is Wayne…

  1. Craig

    Hi, Wayne!

    Welcome back.

  2. Thanks, Craig.

    I’m hoping this will be a regular occurrence.

  3. Hey Wayne,
    this is my young stepbrother isn’t it? I just saw you and your wonderful wife today. Brad and I can’t find you on FB, are y0u on there? I don’t have an email to write you any more either. Please send them when you get a chance.
    It was wonderful seeing you and meeting Beth. you are a great couple and I’ve admired you for years.
    love, Barbara

Leave a comment