I seek a better motto, I look around me…

Last night at dinner I made reference to a state with a nonsensical motto. I thought it was New Mexico, but I couldn’t remember for sure – and couldn’t remember the motto either.

So, I asked my good friend, Wikipedia.

Here’s what it said.
Further inquiry revealed that while New Mexico may indeed be neither a rolling thundercloud nor a good phrase-picker, my home state of Michigan seems to be little better.

Here’s our motto.

Here’s the whole darn list.

As it turns out, I alsways thought the motto was, “Say yes to Michigan.”
-W

2 Comments

Filed under Unfiltered Thinking

2 responses to “I seek a better motto, I look around me…

  1. I didn’t even know states had latin mottoes. I was thinking “Great Lakes, Great times.” It makes a great tagline, even if it is corny…

  2. Wesley Dumont

    Live Free or Die!

Leave a Reply

